I Knew

Hello there!

JMC_8290

I just got back from my cousin’s wedding in Oklahoma- SO much fun! It was amazing to be with family, to support my cousin, and to experience all the happiness and joy in everyone. The full run-down of the wedding will be in my next post (with lots of behind-the-scenes photos, don’t worry), but I first wanted to document and share a very, very cool moment that happened.

January 2nd, 2015. After giving my speech as Maid of Honor at the Rehearsal Dinner and the rest of the toasts concluded, a mini dance party broke out on the dance floor. I was dancing with my parents, my cousins, my aunts and uncles, my brother, the bridesmaids, and other extended family there for the bride and groom (the fan-favorite of the night was Uptown Funk). And then I knew. I looked around and saw how happy everyone was, including myself! After we had all just poured out hearts out in speeches, everyone came together to celebrate and have a wacky, goofy time together- bad dance moves and all. I knew that I wanted to work on weddings for the rest of my life. In that moment I knew I could never have another career. I knew that I was made to be a wedding planner.

I guess I had never realized the power of weddings until that Rehearsal Dinner night. Not only do weddings unite husband and wife, but they bring the people you love most under one roof. I hadn’t been with all of my cousins in one place in three years. I had never danced on the dance floor with my 78-year-old grandma. But weddings make that happen. Weddings bring people together, families together, and create a happiness and excitement that is incomparable. I want to be a part of making that happiness possible for people for the rest of my life. I will forever remember that moment, smiling and laughing on the dance floor and just knowing that this is what God put me on this earth to do. So look out wedding industry, I’m comin’ for ya.

xo- Allison

Leave a Reply

